top of page

Mysteries of the Rosary

The Mysteries of the Rosary are traditionally divided into three categories: the Joyful, the Sorrowful and the Glorious. Each set of mysteries has been traditionally associated with a particular day: Joyful with Monday and Thursday, Sorrowful with Tuesday and Friday and Glorious with Wednesday, Saturday and Sunday.

In October of 2002, Pope St. John Paul II proposed the Luminous Mysteries. He did so not to adjust the traditional rosary, but to introduce the concept of praying the rosary with scenes from the life of Christ in addition to the traditional mysteries. For those who pray the Luminous Mysteries, the other mysteries are prayed on different days; Joyful Mysteries on Monday and Saturday, Sorrowful Mysteries on Tuesday and Friday, Glorious Mysteries on Wednesday and Sunday, and Luminous Mysteries on Thursday. 

The buttons below link to a document outlining the Rosary, and will soon include reflections from the heart of the Dominican Tradition; Reflections will include the traditional Mysteries of the Rosary, the Luminous Mysteries, as well as reflections on other scenes from the Life of Christ. 

bottom of page